C#: Set default version of Visual Studio

http://social.msdn.microsoft.com/Forums/en/vssetup/thread/568e32af-d724-4ac6-8e8f-72181c4320b3

Set default version of Visual Studio

Problem:

I have both VS 2005 & VS 2008 installed. I need VS 2008 to be the default version. What registry changes must I make to get this to happen?

Soln:

· I had the same issue long ago and dug out the answer, it was much more difficult to find than it should be. I believe the setting we’re all looking for is in the registry at:

HKLM\Software\Microsft\Windows\CurrentVersion\App Paths\devenv.exe

I set this default string to the filespec of the devenv.exe I want to use when I double-click on a *.sln file

Leave a Reply

